Camper Pizzas

Today’s post is brought to you by means of me having a burning from spices mouth. I’m working on a new soup recipe and I used possibly too much of the pepper spice. Or else it’s just a spicier type than I’ve previously been using. This feel is like when I eat really spicy chili. Nose did start to run towards the end. There’s a couple of rough spots in it, but I think I may end up liking it enough. At least I don’t think the lead stomach garbage gut would have turned it away. He only did that once. A very special dog, yes he was.

I remember when I was younger that we would go camping. Honestly, it was nowhere near roughing it. A more accurate statement would have been the glamping they talk about now. We had a popup camper with it’s own stove, sink and refrigerator in it. My little black and white television my uncle replaced ended up going in there. (Still miss the one he broke; that one was so cool.) Yes, some nights we cooked over the campfire, but it was more reserved for flaming torches of marshmallows and camper pies. Camper pies are not camper pizzas. Camper pizzas were reserved for the toaster over that was pulled out either when we ran out of propane for heat (see, even had heater that worked until the last few years) or it was raining enough that mom was cooking inside. She was more likely to use the toaster oven than to turn the stove on.And don’t ask to have them made when at home. That was reserved only for the trips.

But, tonight it is cold and my mouth burns. I find myself wishing for the warm weather that came with most of the trips. I miss sitting by a fire drinking either a soda or a beer from a bottle. Yes, the beer wasn’t until I was older most times (my parents did give me some to drink when I was younger with conditions attached) but I still occasionally drink soda bottles by a fire.Other than that, I seem to find it almost as peaceful as it was then. I made myself a healthier version of them earlier today. Well, I guess you could call it healthier. Instead of the white english muffins that would have been baked or broiled on them previously, I used whole wheat ones.Growing up, the only nod towards vegetables on it would have been canned mushrooms. Pepperoni was the name of the toppings then. Now, I put spinach, tomatoes, and green peppers on them. I even made one a pesto sauced instead of traditional pizza sauce. It was yummy.

Muffin pizzas

Left is my regular muffin pizza and right is a pesto almost a caprese style pizza

Camper Pizza

Serves 1

1 English Muffin, cut in half horizontally

2 Tbs pizza sauce

2 Tbs cheese

Toppings of choice

Microwave instructions:

On a microwave-safe plate, place both halves of the english muffin. Top first with the pizza sauce, then add the toppings. Finally cover with the cheese. Place in microwave from 1 1/2 minutes to 2 minutes, when cheese is melted and ingredients are hot. Remove from microwave. Enjoy.

 

Toaster Oven instructions:

Preheat toaster oven to 375 degrees. Cover oven pan with aluminum foil to prevent sticking. On each half of muffin, add pizza sauce, then toppings, and finally cheese. Place on pan and then stick in heated oven for approximately 5 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and golden. Pull pan out. Wait for them to cool a little. Enjoy.

Microwave version will not have them as crispy as in the toaster oven version. They still taste good either way.

Leave a comment