New Irish Meal? OK

Growing up, I heard I was part this, part that. But, I recognise myself as  EuroMutt. As in, there is no one nationality that is more than another for my heritage. I can point to more than one country where my family came from. Have I looked too far into the history? No, because I can’t read all the languages I’d have to know. It probably didn’t help that that part of the family said that the children should never learn the languages because they “were in America, so you only speak English” and so the languages were lost to us. The rest other members of my family have already have. So, I never really have looked too much into my history. And I will say that I have had a bad time with ancestry.com mainly because there are mistakes made that we DO have records on and couldn’t change. Other issues are that we CAN’T even find the existence of family in their records but we know from photos of their existences. My daughter got so frustrated over it and tried to explain that to her teachers to no good results. Sighs.

But, something we’ve been kept to some heritages is food. In one case (where I learned to measure by sight instead of weights or cups) it means that the recipe has never really been written down. Many recipes are gone because of this. Other ones, only certain parts of the family make it because the rest just can’t get it right. Other heritages we have never really are much from or even heard stories from. This makes the kids want to explore recipes from cookbooks or websites. When I make some, the older members of my family start talking about remembering either their mom or grandma making it. Sometimes, we discover an old recipe; other times we start adapting.

So, for St Patrick’s Day for next month, I’m trying a new recipe: Bangers and mash. I found Irish Style Bangers at Aldi’s recently and this is something that the kids may like. Those are for the kids and I’m using a meatless sausage for me. The traditional gravy is an onion gravy. This is simple to make. So, this is one of those transitional recipes we all can enjoy. Especially with no ingredients that the kids dislike.

Onion Gravy

1 small chopped onion

2 Tbs all purpose flour, toasted

2 C vegetable broth

1/2 C White wine

3 Tbs vegetable oil, divided

Salt and Pepper to taste

Heat 1 Tbs oil in a saucepan. Once hot, add chopped onion. Cook onions until caramelized, stirring as little as possible. Add remaining ingredients. Stir until as smooth or as lumpy as you desire. Pour over veggies or meats.

 

 

Leave a Reply

