How soon is Spring?

So, instead of sleeping, I’m currently sitting outside with my bowl of oatmeal (lemon poppyseed), cup of dirty chai, and pajamas. Yes, outside where the entire world can see me and with sandals on for footwear. My pajama ensemble lately has been including socks, so I know it looks bad. But, with weather this warm after the cold streak, I think I’ll enjoy it before I get too tired. This makes for the perfect end for a day. Of course, it’s a bank holiday, so there are quite a few people who are enjoying this day too. I’m sure there are a few others who are calling off today to enjoy the day. But, a nice part about working at night, I can enjoy the day without having to cut into the money coming in. Vitamin D, you are so welcome right now.

Over the weekend, I went out at night (which technically is illegal where we went because it is marked sunrise to sunset) to go walk a park path with the guy. I found myself wishing there was a park setup where there wasn’t that risk of getting in trouble for those who do work nights and want to do that outdoors on days off. I understand that most of the city will turn a blind eye as long as you aren’t doing something really bad, but there can always be the day one either runs into someone who wants to be a stickler for the rules or is having a bad day and decides to enforce the rule. But, this also was nice to do because we got to talk and relax. We both were feeling cooped up with the only option being us being in my room for any type of privacy. So, the two of us really enjoyed and laughed more during our exploring walk. We’re also figuring other places to park his car so we can do long walks on my days off and get to just be together. He brought coffee and I told him about my idea for when I have the girls out here in an apartment this summer.

The oatmeal was the first time I made it, and I didn’t do any measuring. I wasn’t even sure it would work. So, no recipe for this. I figure that closer to easter I’ll post a final recipe on it. That way, I know that it is right. It does taste quite like a lemon poppyseed muffin. It’s what I find funny, but so many like the tops of muffins. I find the best part is the bottom. I think there’s too many extras added to the top, so you miss out on the actual flavor and texture of the muffin. But, this oatmeal is fitting in perfectly with the weather I’m sitting in. I usually end up sweetening my oatmeal by adding flavors. Jams and chocolates are quite sweetening. My maple and brown sugar oatmeal is a distinct difference. Wait, maybe not since I’m really trying to eat it for the maple and the molasses flavorings. I am finding myself buying a lot of local stuff which ends up either being the same price or less than going to the grocery store. I know adding the girls will have my costs go up because the local meats are much higher, but I think that we can make it. They have all requested having meats still be in their diets, so this is going to be my compromise. It makes having a tight budget for food to begin with hard, but I will figure a way to do it. They just have to grab my old pans and pots to cook the meat in. My jam area in my fridge is growing from the selection I have, but I’ll hit TJMaxx as long as they still have my one jam. Darn it, I blame Ribena for my blackcurrant addiction.

I think I’ll try to end this with my new vinaigrette recipe. It’s worked quite nicely on both salads and the other part of my bean salad base.Yes, there are two different vinegars, but I’m kind of realising I’m a vinegar addict. I have more vinegars than anything else. I do need to get some more oils, but I see a vinegar and start drooling. Both of these are sweet vinegars, so they play nicely together. It does darken the look of the food, so if you are not wanting that, then change the vinegars to your liking. I won’t put servings on anything with dressings because I don’t pay attention to how much I use at once and I know everyone uses different amounts per item.

 

Malt Balsamic Vinaigrette

2 Tbs. Malt Vinegar (I used London Pub, but Heinz also makes a killer malt vinegar)

2 Tbs. Balsamic Vinegar of Modena

1 tsp. Black currant Preserves

Pinch Kroenig spice mix

Pinch Hickory smoked Salt

Olive Oil with black Truffles

Add all ingredients before Olive oil to a jar. Add olive oil to the top. Add lid. Shake until emulsified. If it doesn’t get to the thickness of your liking, add more olive oil. Shake again. Enjoy. Remember to reshake each time you use it because they WILL separate.

Leave a Reply

