Enter Title Here

So, I am not even going to try for a title today. Honestly, I find it humorous to keep seeing that listed in the title bar as I type posts up. But, I need to have a title, so this will be the one. Maybe someone else can think of something more interesting. Tonight, not happening in my brain.

I have been trying to figure how to keep staff members from feeling the need to check on me when I am waiting for Mayhem’s appointments to be over. I am required to sit in the waiting room while she is in there. It is not an issue to me. But, every ten minutes, I will get asked if I’ve been helped and I have to keep saying I’m just waiting for her appointment to be over. This is worst when I am reading a magazine that I brought with me just for that sole purpose. So, I know I can’t take my HGTV or Vegetarian Times in there to get ideas. It really would be productive for me so I could do things and make plans for projects. But, those distractions get annoying when it is a weekly thing. And I know I do not look like a teenager. Even when I have my earplugs in to try to listen to music.

In the past, I have tried to bring in adult coloring books and pencils to use on them. That brings out the children who are getting in trouble and I end up loaning them to the children so that they can have something to do instead of pester the other adults. This place does not have anything other than a couple of magazines, which is good because some of the people make a mess of them and nobody else can use them. There also is no television, which I really do appreciate more because then I don’t have to listen to either a medical type set of video Articles or kids shows which I have no interest in. I have also tried playing games on my phone. That has a similar reaction, but others want to know what I’m doing. Bringing notebooks and pens bring others distractions. But, all take away the distractions for me. This brings forward more checking in that I’m being helped.

This week, I did something different. But, it still had the result of everyone needing to know what I was doing. I took my knitting in with me. I was asked by three or four different people what I was working on. At the time, I really didn’t know and I was still trying to learn to knit. I will be slowly learning for a while. So, it became frustrating to be asked about it. I didn’t want to talk about it there but wanted something to keep me busy while I was waiting and not have to hand over to someone else. It did work a bit, so this may go with me for a while.

I have a plan on future appointments. I plan to keep a couple free printables of coloring pages for the appointments. Then, when there are children who need busy stuff, I can pull it out and they can work on those. I’ll keep a set of crayons and inexpensive colored pencils in my bag with that as the purpose. Though, I do find it sad that other parents seem to expect that all office places will have toys or something to keep the children entertained. I wish more parents in my area carried their own entertainment books and toys outside of their personal smartphone. I can understand the child’s frustration when the parent is entertaining him/herself and the child is being forced to fend for him/herself for entertainment while waiting there.

Ok, that was my big rant and the change it made. I was really going to just rant over why does everyone have to ask about what I’m working on when they see me doing something. I don’t hear the people before and really am trying to focus on what I am doing. It almost feels like an intrusion into my personal mental space. But, it seems to me that others feel require to acknowledge another’s presence even when the other person has made no attempt to state that they want acknowledged.

Leave a Reply

