TSA Baggy

So, I have to do a trip to Houston, TX to ride back home with my dearest friend. I have done a few trips to other states with not much of a problem. Of course, there is the issue that I will get hit by turbulence. With that, I’m not talking a light wiggle the plane. No, I will get the flight attendants letting out a shriek kind. The hope is that it will be on the first leg of the flight and not the second. My ticket is with Southwest, so I have to make sure to check in as soon as I possibly can. Though I am pretty certain that nobody else will want the seat that I want, there is always the possibility. But, honestly, how many people want the furthest back seat on the plane?

So, everyone knows by now that you must carry a quart sized baggy for liquids, gels, and aerosols to get through security. I have mine packed with my main essentials. I don’t have mascara in there only because I found out that they added a Benefit at the airport, so I can just grab one there and have more room in my baggy for the rest of the stuff. In the baggy, everything must be smaller than 3oz. or it will be tossed. The exception is if you have something medical, are breastfeeding, or have baby food/formula. Those don’t need to be in the baggy, but still have to be separate from the rest of your stuff. That’s why my allergy nasal spray and contact lens solution are not in the baggy also.

So, here is my baggy. Yeah, it is full. A couple things are presents for my friend.

Inside the baggy is:

LA Fresh Antiperspirant Wipe for Women: I got this in a Beauty Box 5 last year and just didn’t have a need to use it. Three day road trip is a good reason to use it now. I really like that it takes less room than my deodorant stick for trips. My main concern is how well it will work and if I break out. It’s the inactive ingredients that always get me.

LA Fresh Instant Body Smoother: Here’s another Beauty Box 5 from last year that I never used. I planned on using them, but it was much easier just keeping a container of body wipes when I got to work and taking a shower when I got home from work than trying to find these if I liked them. So, this finally will get used. I will add that I do plan on buying a small thing of wipes for the rest of the trip if we take more time than planned on the road or if we get more stinky than we can deal with.

Crystal Light Liquid in Peach Bellini: Our drink of choice over the trip is bottled water. There will be coffee stops for me and tea stops for resting time, but mainly water. I am so picky about plain water that it isn’t funny. But, that’s for a later post. This is a yummy flavor that both of us like. Therefore, this will be completely used by the time the trip is over.

Amlactin Moisturizing Body Lotion: I got this first in a subscription box, then as a sample to review on a free sample site. I do like this stuff a lot. It claims that it will make your skin more photosensitive. Honestly, that is a simple trade to me constantly turning my body into a scratching post. This is also the closest I have found to the prescription that my family has for psoriasis and eczema. It is also the closest bottle to the limit of all the stuff in my baggy. I will fight and argue to keep this with me. I need the full 2 oz. for travel. By the way, I have refilled the bottle a few times since using the sample up.

Coola Mineral Sunscreen tinted moisturizer SPF 20: I keep this for any travel I do. This goes on first thing in the morning before I go out. I was worried when I first got it that it would be too dark for my skin, since most tinted stuff is, but it blended in well and gives me a bronzed look. I also use this as my foundation. I love that it has a nice scent, yet has no fragrances added. It uses only Titanium Dioxide for the sunscreen, so it does not last very long as a sunscreen. But, it is a good start for me so I can layer on as the day progresses.

Cotz Face SPF 40: I like to use this sunscreen on my face also. I can add this after I get out into the sun to go over my Coola. It also does not change my skin tone. It really does blend in so that I look like there is nothing on. I can wear this first on days where I want to have a complete makeup free look. Then, I can glory in my paler skin color. This uses both Titanium Dioxide and Zinc Oxide for sunscreens. My avatar is from when I was going sunscreen free all over. I could tan even in the coldest day of winter. I still technically can, but I prefer to put on sunscreen, if only to get Murder to use it. Mischief and Mayhem have my delightful lack of burn ability with pale skin.

Sport Coola Classic Sunscreen in SPF 45 in Fresh Mango: With all the sunscreen samples I received last year, I never even opened this one. I know that  SPF breaks down as it ages. This is why I really hope to get more sunscreen in my subscription boxes this year. But, I have fallen in love with the Coola sunscreens and their use of natural ingredients. The active ingredients in this are Avobenzone, Octinoxate, Octisalate, and Octocrylene. I think that is why I avoided using this one last year. I do want to stick to less chemical and more natural sunscreen protections. But, I’ll use it on the trip this time, or give it to my best friend to use. It depends on who wants it more.

YuBe Moisturizing Skin Cream: I use this for my lips. It is very moisturizing. You can even order the sample size on their site to make it so easy for travelling or to have others try out. I got this first in a swap and refuse to live without it for my lips. I even put it under any lip balm and lip gloss I wear. Otherwise, I look like I have crocodile lips.

Julep Nail Polish in Audrey, Bess, and Portia: I am a nail polish addict. Remember that from my first post? Well, I refuse to go on a trip without being able to do my nails. Audrey is the pale pink color. That is what I call my shading color. It is pretty sheer , so it will change the color of Bess, which is my very opaque aqua blue. Portia is my blue glitter, so that will be for extending the life of the polishes. Yes, I do know how to paint my nails in a moving vehicle.

Perfume Oils: I just don’t feel like listing all of them here. I have 5 samples and two bottles. One bottle is for when I sleep since it helps me rest. The rest are for whatever mood I feel like being in and how it complements my personal scent. This also is where the present comes in. One of them is for my best friend since she loves the one scent and will have all of her perfumes packed up. We both like the scent of the other bottle on us, so I am bringing that.

So, that is what is going into my baggy. All of the rest of my stuff goes into my little bag. Tomorrow will have some tips on packing for a week trip or less with only a carry-on case. With that, I should add that I do over pack for some reason. If you travel, what do you have in your baggy? What would you put into your baggy for your dream trip.

Leave a Reply

